DPG and MIG Awards

Dietetic Practice Groups (DPGs) and Member Interest Groups (MIG) establish various awards for DPG/MIG members. Learn more about the various awards and award winners by visiting each DPG or MIG websites. The award recipients from 2019-2020 are listed below.

Student Scholarship

  • Kimberly Korff

Excellence in Leadership Award

  • Aimee Reuhs, MS, MPH, RD, LDN

Outstanding Student Award

  • Prabhdeep Sandha, BS, PhD

Excellence in Service & Leadership Award

  • Aarti Batavia, MS, RDN, CLT, CFSP, IFMCP

Quality and Process Improvement Poster Award

  • Jennifer Wills Gallagher, MPPA, RD, LDN

Quality and Process Improvement Poster Award

  • Megan Blick, RD, CNSC

Champion Award: None in 2020

Diabetes Educator of the Year Award

  • Toby Smithson, MS, RDN, LD, CDCES, FAND

Distinguished Service Award

  • Jo Jo Dantone, MS, RDN, LDN, CDCES, FAND

Legislative Activity Award

  • Jennifer Okemah, MS RDN, CSSD, BC-ADM, CDCES

Publications Award:  None in 2020

Emerging Leader Award

  • Kelly Drews, MS, RDN, LDN

Circle Award

  • Tori Schmitt MS, RDN, LD

Founders Award

  • Sarah Hendren MS, RDN, LDN, CD

Excellence in Practice

  • Mary Purdy, MS, RDN

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Coco Newton, MPH, RD, CNS

Excellence in Service

  • Kathy Moore-Gregory, RDN, LD

Distinguished Service Award

  • Yimin Chen, PhD, RD, LD, CNSC

Distinguished Practice Award

  • Kristen M. Roberts, PhD, RD, LD, CNSC
Fall 2019

Excellence in Hunger and Environmental Nutrition

  • Matthew Landry, PhD

Excellence in Hunger and Environmental Nutrition Leadership

  • Janice Giddons, MS, RDN

Spring 2020

Joraan Forbord Memorial Education Award

  • Matthew Landry, PhD

International Education Award

  • Marianella Herrera, MD, SCD, MS

Distinguished Trinko Service Award

  • Julie Plasencia, PhD, RDN, LD

Student FNCE® Scholarship

  • Shelby Cook

Golden YAM (You Are Magnificent) Award

  • June Thompson, MS, RDN, FAND
  • Tornia Anderson, RD, LDN, CPT

Griot Award

  • Yvonne Greer, MPH, RD, CD

Dr. Evelyn Crayton Scholarship

  • Carmen Bell
  • Cindy Evans
  • Maya Rashad

Award of Excellence

  • Elizabeth Traxler

Outstanding Member

  • Vivian Haley-Zitlin, PhD, RD, LD

Student Scholarships

  • Michaela Breece
  • Siena Senn

Outstanding Member Award

  • Chere Bork, MS, RDN

Outstanding Student Member Award

  • Lacey Mauritz, RDN, LN

Distinguished Practice Award

  • Jeannine B. Mills, MS, RD, LD, CSO (NH)

Connie San Andres-Robles Distinguished Service Award

  • Colleen Spees, PhD, MEd, RDN (OH)

Excellence in Oncology Nutrition Research

  • Holly N. Paden MS (OH)

Outstanding Member of the Year

  • Lori Bechard, PhD, MEd, RDN

Published Research Award

  • Kristi Thaete, MS, RD, LD, CNSC

Research Grant Award

  • Dr. Stephanie Garis Harshman, PhD, RD, LD

Recognized Neonatal RDN Award

  • Dena L. Goldberg, PhD, RD

Pre-Professional Practice Scholarship

  • Gale Nelson

Excellence in Public Health/Community Nutrition Award

  • Megan Lott, MPH, RDN (NC)

Outstanding Young Member of the Year Award: None awarded in 2020

Outstanding Student Member of the Year Award: None awarded in 2020

Nutrition Outreach & Education Mini-Grant

  • Sharon Meier Lutheran, MSH LD CL
  • Tamela Mack, RD, CSR

Outstanding Service Award

  • Christine Swafford Benedetti, MS, RDN, CSR, LDN

2020 Excellence in Practice Award

  • Michele Macedonio, MS, RDN, CSSD, LD

2020 Achievement Award

  • Dr. David Travis Thomas, PhD, RDN, CSSD, FAND

2020 Student Award

  • Katarina Smiljanec, MS

Dietetic Internship Award Winners

  • Camilla Ahlqvist
  • Thea Boatswain
  • Jenny Litchford
  • Teresa Patten
  • Katya Wolf

Award of Excellence in Service and Leadership

  • Debra King, MS RDN LD FAND
  • Cindy Reeser

State Coordinator of the Year Award

  • Dori Coetzee MS RDN

Excellence in Weight Management Emerging Practice Award

  • Ginger Cochran, MS, RDN, CEP ACSM, CDCES

Excellence in Weight Management Established Practice Award

  • Shelly Summar, MSEd, RD, LD

Excellence in Weight Management Emerging Outcomes Research Award

  • Michelle Cardel, PhD, MS, RD, FTOS

Excellence in Weight Management Outcomes Research Award

  • Geeta Sikand MA, RDN, FAND, CDE, CLS, FNLA

Excellence in Practice in Women’s Health

  • Meghan M. McMillin, MS, RD, CSP, LDN, IBCLC

Emerging Professional in Women’s Health

  • Trisha A. Cousins, EdD, RDN, LDN

Outstanding Student in Women’s Health

  • Hannah J.C. Burgoon